The Association of Harvard College Class Secretaries and Treasurers



AHCCS&T 2020 Annual Meeting Minutes April 17, 2020

Chris Duble '75, Association President, called the meeting to order.

Chris observed that this 120th meeting of AHCCS&T is the first ever to be held virtually, which necessitated a slight departure from the traditional presentation format. Consequently, the meeting did not include a keynote speaker.

We approved the 2019 meeting minutes.

We observed a moment of silence for the recently deceased members of the association:

Elizabeth MacCormack Collins '44 - Treasurer

Benjamin "Ben" Wright '44 - Treasurer

Walter Robb '48 - Secretary

Charles "Charlie" Boit '53 - Treasurer

Francis "Tare" Newbury '60 - Treasurer

Robert "Bob" Beal '63 - Secretary

We welcomed New Members including:

Henry Lee '48 – Secretary

Richard "Dick" Lincoln '53 – Treasurer

Devereux "Dev" Barker '60 – Treasurer

Paul George '63 – Treasurer

Jay Pasachoff '63 – Secretary

William "Bill" Boone '92 - Treasurer

Gabrielle Burton '92 – Secretary

We extended a special welcome to our new officers from the Class of 2020:

Constance Bourguignon - Treasurer

Cade Palmer - Secretary

We also took the opportunity to acknowledge our longest-serving member - Dan Fenn '44.

Dan served initially as Treasurer before transitioning to Secretary for the past 74 years. (Please note that Dan passed away on August 14, 2020; the following week, Chris sent a message about Dan to the broad AHCCS&T membership.)

Chris reported that the Nominating Committee (Madeline Lissner '09, Chris Duble '75 & Jay Hooper '84) presented the following slate for the year 2020-2021:

President: Chris Duble '75 (S)
Secretary: Tom Quirk '74 (T)

Treasurer: Jay Hooper '84 (T)

Honorary Chair: Alexandra Molnar '96 (S)

Executive Committee: *Above officers with:*

Arthur Karell '01 (S), Committee Member

Rod Kessler '71 (S), Committee Member

Brad Paraszczak '11 (T), Committee Member

Julie Starr-Duker '82 (T), Committee Member

Ex Officio: Madeline Lissner '09 (S), College Appointed Director representing AHCCST

Philip Lovejoy, Executive Director, HAA

Liz Ballard '99, Director, College Alumni Programs, HAA

Jay Hooper '84 presented the idea of creating an online shared community for AHCCS&T members through Slack. This would provide a means by which Secretaries and Treasurers could ask each other questions and share best practices, which might be a particularly useful platform given the restrictions that we are all facing. Slack is a bit like a combination of email and Facebook (without the ads). The Executive Committee will be looking further into this potentially valuable tool for our use.

There being no further business to this abbreviated "virtual" session, the meeting was adjourned and Chris introduced HAA Executive Director Philip Lovejoy for his University update.